Maine Fishermen’s Forum Doesn’t Let Pandemic Interfere With Scholarship Awards

Despite the fact that the Maine Fishermen’s Forum was cancelled this year due to COVID-19, the Forum’s Board was able to award 23 educational scholarships to children, grandchildren or dependents of Maine fishing families. The scholarships assist students in at least their second year of college or vocational school to pay for school expenses.
Funding for the scholarships comes from many sources, the most popular of which is the annual Friday night auction held at the Forum. The auction brings out the crowd, many of whom compete with each other in raising the bid prices on everyday items sky high.

Image Courtesy: M. Young

This year the auction was held online, but the enthusiasm of the participants remained the same. Bids flocked in for items such as an Icelandic sweater, a sea bag commemorating the Hayley Ann, lost at sea in early 2020, and overnight accommodations at the Samoset Resort in Rockport. It was the handknit socks, made each year by Maggie Raymond, however that really got the bids going. After a steady increase in bid amounts, the wool socks were finally won with a $455 bid from Hank Soule, longtime Forum board member.

This year the Board awarded $43,500 to the following students, a remarkable feat in a remarkable year.


Aubrey Anderson Alan Miller Spruce Head 

Mackenzie Arey Heron Arey Milbridge 

Matthew Beard Matthew Beard Portland 

Hayden Brewer Russell Brewer Boothbay Harbor 

Jacquelyn Cook John Cook, Jr. Perry 

Reece Dannenberg Carl Dannenberg Sedgwick 

Paige Dennison Kory Dennison Vinalhaven 

Margaret Kelly Thomas & Peter Kelly Portland 

William LaBrecque Raymond H Swett Jr. Southport 

Levi Little James R. Little Phippsburg 

Adeline McDonald Jason McDonald Deer Isle 

Erin Moody Brian Moody Harpswell 

Nolan R. Murphy Shawn Murphy Seal Cove 

Adam Norwood II Adam Norwood Blue Hill 

Moriah Nutter William Nutter Deer Isle 

Shaw Pinkham-McKnight Ronald Pinkham Five Islands 

Caitlyn Rich Lawrence Rich South Portland 

Jordan Rich Todd Rich Long Island 

Jon Robbins Stephen H Robbins, Jr Little Deer Isle 

Madigan Saunders Charles Saunders Harpswell 

Rosemary Train Steve Train Long Island 

Libby Weed Leroy Weed Jr. Stonington 

Cooper Wirkala Jim Wirkala Spruce Head 

Share This Story:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *